Date published: 25 March 2024

Colleagues from across our Derbyshire division were recognised for their long service and outstanding contribution in a ceremony at The Whitworth Centre, Matlock on Tuesday 19 March.

Both frontline colleagues and Patient Transport Services (PTS) staff were recognised on the day with recipients clocking up an EMAZING 300 years of service between them.

EMAS Director of Operations Ben Holdaway, Divisional Director for Derbyshire Craig Whyles and Divisional Director for Non Emergency Patient Transport Services Joy Weldin presented the awards to the deserving recipients. They were also joined on the day by Director of Strategy and Transformation Will Legge, Director of Human Resources  and Organisational Development Kerry Gulliver, Director of Quality Improvement and Patient Safety Keeley Sheldon and new Deputy Director of Operations and former Divisional Director for Derbyshire, Tim Slater.


Those recognised included:

Non Emergency Patient Transport Services

20 years

Shaun Layton

40 years

Ian Towndrow (also awarded a divisional NEPTS award)

Divisional NEPTS award

Paula Morton


Frontline colleagues

10 years

Hannah Foster

Rebecca Kallai

Ross Wormall

Steven Beresford

Stuart Tilt

Liam McGinlay

Laura Edwards

Louise Viner

Morgan Bailey

Tiffany England

Tony Garratt


20 years

Jayne Alexander-Cunniffe

Karen Marley

Kate Watkins

Sharon Pugh

Vicki Hinchliffe


30 years

John Watkin-Bennett


Divisional awards

Contribution - Jake Harper

Compassion - Julian King

Teamwork - Richard Allen

Teamwork - Sally-Ann Ellse

Respect - Stuart Richardson

Compassion - Chris Prime

Competence - Rachel Douglass



Craig Whyles, Divisional Director for Derbyshire thanked staff for attending on the day and said:

“It is a privilege to be standing at the front and offering these awards out to our colleagues in Derbyshire and recognising the work they do.

"We all work together for our patients and it is great that both A&E frontline and our Non Emergency Patient Transport Services staff can come together under one roof and recognise the great work everyone does."


Congratulations to all who received recognition for their achievements.